We are delighted to launch the 2021 Fund Challenge!

The Fund Challenge is a competition for undergraduate economics students sponsored as a joint initiative by the African Department (AFR), Asia and Pacific Department (APD), Institute for Capacity Development (ICD), Middle East and Central Asia Department (MCD), and Office of Innovation and Change (OIC). Finalists will participate in the 2021 Annual Meetings.

The Fund Challenge aims to foster a passion and understanding of basic macroeconomic analysis at the undergraduate level, promote familiarity with the work of the Fund, and nurture dialog with the youth in these regions.

The success of the Fund Challenge depends on raising awareness with students and universities. We would appreciate your help in sharing information on the Fund Challenge with eligible students and faculty at institutions of higher education in any eligible AFR, APD, or MCD member country or territory (see full list below). The flyer for the 2021 Fund Challenge has additional information on the timetable and student eligibility. Please do not hesitate to contact our team with any questions you might have at IMF-FUNDCHALLENGE@imf.org.

We appreciate your support in launching the 2021 Fund Challenge and being part of this initiative.


Middle East and Central Asia Department

Institute for Capacity Development

Asia and Pacific Department

African Department

AFR member countries include: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Congo, Republic of, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

APD member countries include: Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Fiji, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Lao PDR, Macao SAR, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

MCD member countries and territories include: Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Georgia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, West Bank and Gaza, and Yemen.