The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is seeking nominations for the AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy.

The award recognizes an individual or a limited number of individuals working together in the scientific and engineering or foreign affairs communities who are making an outstanding contribution to furthering science diplomacy.

The award recipient receives a monetary prize of $10,000, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration for the AAAS Annual Meeting and reimbursement for travel and hotel expenses to attend, worldwide promotion of their achievements through AAAS communication channels, and the opportunity to publish in Science & Diplomacy about their work.

The award is presented each year at the AAAS Annual Meeting.

The award has been renamed after two longtime champions for scientific advancement, psychiatrists David and Betty Hamburg.


Any individual or small group in the scientific or foreign policy community that has contributed to the role of science cooperation in building stronger links between and among societies is eligible for the AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy

The award is open to all regardless of nationality or citizenship. Self nominations are accepted.


All details about the award including how to submit a nomination can be found at:

The call is open until 30 June 2021.